The Whales

The Whales

There are over 85 recognised species of cetacean worldwide, which are divided into two groups: odontocetes or toothed whales, and mysticetes or baleen whales. While toothed whales have teeth with which they catch and hold their prey, baleen whales have keratin 

plates in their mouths, which act as filters to retain small fish and crustaceans. Baleen whales are the less diverse group, with only 15 species recognised today, including the iconic humpback whale. The toothed whales include dolphins, porpoises, and the sperm whale!

sperm whale

The sperm whale is the largest of the toothed whales and our star species!

killer whale

Killer whales are a resident species to Norwegian waters.

humpback whales

Humpback whales are famous for their aerial display.

pilot whale

The long-finned pilot whale is another toothed whale and belongs to the dolphin family.

Atlantic White Sided Dolphin

Atlantic white-sided dolphins are beautifully patterned.

fin whales

The fin whale is a baleen whale and the second largest of all cetaceans after the blue whales.

risso's dolphin

Risso’s dolphins are easy to identify, as white scars  accumulate over the years, giving them a unique aspect.

White Beaked Dolphin

As the name indicates, the most distinguishable characteristic of this species is a short white beak.

Harbour Porpoise

The harbour porpoise is the smallest cetacean found in Norwegian waters.